September's Devotion: The Sorrows of Mary

September is the month dedicated to the Seven Sorrows of Our Lady. Our Lady told St Bridget that she would obtain seven graces for those who practiced this devotion by praying seven Hail Mary's and meditating on her tears and dolors.
Here are the Seven Sorrows of Mary and the Seven Graces she promises to those who pray this devotion.

1. The Prophecy of Simeon. (St. Luke 2: 34, 35)
2. The Flight Into Egypt. (St. Matthew 2:13-14)
3. The Loss of the Child Jesus in the Temple. (St. Luke 3: 43-45)
4. The Meeting of Jesus and Mary on the Way of the Cross.
5. The Crucifixion.
6. The Taking Down of the Body of Jesus from the Cross.
7. The Burial of Jesus.

1. I will grant peace to their families.
2. They will be enlightened about the divine mysteries.
3. I will console them in their pains and I will accompany them in their work.
4. I will give them as much as they ask for as long as it does not oppose the adorable will of my divine  Son or the sanctification of their souls.
5. I will defend them in their spiritual battles with the infernal enemy and I will protect them at every instant of their lives.
6. I will visibly help them at the moment of their death, they will see the face of their Mother.
7. I have obtained from my divine Son, that those who propagate this devotion to my tears and dolors, will be taken directly from this earthly life to eternal happiness since all their sins will be forgiven and my Son and I will be their eternal consolation and joy.

The feast of Our Lady of Sorrows is celebrated on September 15 following the feast of the Exultation of the Cross.
For more on this month's devotion you can click the picture on the left sidebar for September's Devotion.


kam said…
Thanks. And a beautiful picture, I've always liked this one.
Karinann said…
Glad you liked this kam. I had never seen this picture before, but found it to be quite powerful.
Confession time:

I'd never heard of the promises made to St Bridget.

Am I to understand that by saying 7 Hail Mary's and meditating on the 7 sorrows (for how long?) one is to get the graces? Especially Number 7 which I understand to mean one will not go to Purgatory but straight to Heaven?

Your explanations, once again, Karinann, will be most helpful. Thanx.

God bless.
Karinann said…
I came across this devotion some time ago. The devotion and the graces related to it were given to St Bridget of Sweden. She is quite an interesting saint and mystic. She had many visions relating to Our Lord's Passion and to Our Lady. Please understand this devotion is one of personal piety and St Bridget's visions are not dogma or doctrine. However, there is nothing in them which goes against the Church or its teaching, therefore I think these devotions, if one feels called to pray them, can be quite efficacious. As for how long one needs to meditate, there is no set time. Perhaps just reflecting on each sorrow as you say each of the seven Hail Mary's. If you click the picture on my left sidebar for this month's devotion, you will be taken to a site that has some reflections and meditations for each of the seven sorrows.
In answer to your wonderings about number 7 on the list of graces, all I can say is that while I am grateful that purgatory exists, it is possible to avoid it. St Therese of Liseux had some strong words about purgatory and that it does not have to be assumed that all will have to spend time there before entering heaven. She is a Doctor of the Church so I tend to listen to what she has to say on this topic. Here is a link to her teaching on purgatory.
I hope this helps Victor. God bless.
Thanx Karinann,

I've followed the links and I have a lot to read.

God bless.